Media Alert: New Serialized Fiction from Fantasy Author Max Gladstone

Media Alert: New Serialized Fiction from Fantasy Author Max Gladstone

Bookburners—an addictive modern fantasy, in the vein of Supernatural and Buffy―will be published by Serial Box, the newest medium for series drama. Serial Box is a new digital publishing start-up focused exclusively on original serialized fiction, delivering the episodic television model to the written word.  

Heralded as “Sheer enormous fun!” by Naomi Novik (Uprooted and the best-selling Temeraire series) Bookburners has also been called a “Beastly injection of 100-proof demon-battling fiction,” by Kieran Shea (Koko Takes a Holiday).


With weekly episodes being created by Gladstone and his team, the Bookburners season will run for 16 weeks.

Nominated twice for the John W. Campbell Best New Writer Award, Gladstone is the author of the Craft Sequence, tales of wizards in pinstriped suits and gods with shareholder's committees―Full Fathom Five, Three Parts Dead, Two Serpents Rise and the upcoming Last First Snow (Tor).

--------------------

For more information about the concept of Serial Box and some other upcoming releases you can read the official press release below! 


Serial Box Publishing, a digital publishing startup, announces plans to bring the episodic television model to the written word. Starting this September, Serial Box will deliver its first original serial, with a new episode once a week, every week, available on an app, the web, or e-readers—everywhere that people read.

Each serial—thrillers, adventures, horror, romance, and suspense—will be organized into seasons written by teams of notable authors—all sharing a must-see experience on a viral-ripe digital platform. Each episode (under an hour of reading) provides a whole story, but with plot elements pushing forward a larger compelling season-long story arc, leaving readers eager for more. Sometimes emotional; often shocking; always exciting—it’s all there, delivered every week! 

On September 16, 2015, Serial Box will launch with its debut serial, Bookburners, an addictive modern fantasy in the vein of Supernatural and Buffy, with episodes being composed by the notable writing team of Max Gladstone, Mur Lafferty, Brian Francis Slattery, and Margaret Dunlap. Bookburners season will run for 16 weeks.

Two more serials will launch this coming fall and winter. In October 2015, Tremontaine, a 13-episode prequel to Ellen Kushner’s acclaimed series of novels, Swordspoint, will debut. It will run concurrently as Bookburners continues to run through its season. With an early 2016 launch, Serial Box will present its third series, The Witch Who Came in from the Cold, a 13-episode spy tale set in early 1970s Prague.



Visit Serial Box:
www.serialbox.com/

Comments

Popular Posts